The Trilateral Commission created in 1973 brought together highest level non-governmental individuals to discuss issues of global concern at a time when communication and cooperation between Europe, North America, and Asia (mainly Japan) were lacking. The Commission has grown since its early days to include members from more countries in these regions. The commission is a non-governmental, policy-oriented forum that brings together leaders in their individual capacity from the worlds of business, government, academia, press and media, as well as civil society.

The Commission remains more important than ever in helping the countries to fulfill their shared leadership responsibilities in the wider international system. The membership has widened to reflect broader changes in the world. Thus, the Japan Group has become an Asia Pacific Group, including in 2009 both Chinese and Indian members. Mexican members have been added to the North American Group. The European Group continues to widen in line with the enlargement of the EU.

Trilateral Commission meets globally once annually, by rotation, in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific and each region meets once a year. 

Trilateral Commission Leadership

  • Jean-Claude Trichet, Chairman, Group of Thirty; Chairman, Bruegel, Brussels; Honorary Governor, Banque de France; former President of the European Central Bank
  • Meghan O’Sullivan, Evron and Jeane Kirkpatrick Professor of the Practice of International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, Cambridge; former Special Assistant to President and Deputy National Security Advisor for Iraq and Afghanistan
  • Akihiko Tanaka, President, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Tokyo are the respective Chairman of Europe, North America and Asia Pacific region.


India is now a regular member and Ananta Aspen Centre is coordinating India’s participation. Currently we have 12 members from India on the Commission. Out of these 12 members two are members of executive committee such as Mr. Tarun Das, Founding Trustee, Ananta Aspen Centre and Chairman, Institute of Economic Growth is the India Chair at the Commission and member of the Executive Committee along with Dr. Naushad Forbes, Co-Chairman, Forbes Marshall and Chairman, Ananta Aspen Centre.

The Trilateral Commission Washington Plenary Meeting which was scheduled to take place from March 13-15, 2020 has been postponed due to the on-going concerns and uncertainties about the spread of the COVID-19 virus. The next regional meeting will be held on December 4 and 5 in Tokyo, Japan.

Some topics of discussion include - A De-Globalizing World: What’s Next ? , The Future of Information, Where’s the World Heading and How Should Asia Respond? Regional Security Stakes in East, East Asia’s Roles in the 4th Industrial Revolution


All Articles (0)

There aren’t any articles yet.